Heading 1

Heading 1

​​kara martinez bachman​​
follow the shenanigans:
author. person. wearer of momjeans.
"Delightful...This group of essays is lawless and free, revealed with the able touch of a talented narrator who knows how much to reveal and what to hold back." 
                                                                                                                                                                           -- Robin Raven / Huffington Post

"...more often than not, I found myself giggling and nodding in agreement. Grab a glass of wine and some snacks and settle in for the night!"
                                                                                                                      -- Manhattan Book Review

"This book made me laugh plenty, but it also made me think, something I usually try to avoid. Bachman's hysterical take on approaching middle age will resonate with every mama in the carpool line, but it's her ability to weave profundity into the mix that sets her apart."     -- Celia Rivenbark, NYT bestselling author of "You Don't Sweat Much for a Fat Girl"

"A very enjoyable, hilarious tale in the vein of Jen Lancaster, Jenny Lawson and David Sedaris. If you like any of those authors, I’d recommend this book."
                                                                                                                         -- TDC Book Reviews

"Readers will love her style, humor and stories that are the kind where one guffaws and snorts in public while reading. Middle age never felt so good."    
                                                                                                             -- Susan Reinhardt, author of "Chimes from a Cracked Southern Belle" and "Not Tonight Honey, Wait 'til I'm a Size 6"
 
"Kara Martinez Bachman is hip and funny as hell. If I didn't already have a mother--and if I wasn't nearing middle-age myself--I would ask her to adopt me. I still might ask her."

                                                                                                                                  -- New York Times bestselling author, Andrew Shaffer
                                                                                                                                                               

"'Kissing the Crisis' is a hilarious and thought-provoking look at what all women face: the turning of the clock as we balance maintaining marriages, raising children and having careers, while trying to not to lose a sense of ourselves."    
                                                      -- Sarah Bonnette, "Artscape" community columnist, Nola.com|The Times-Picayune

Kissing the Crisis:
Field Notes on Foul-Mouthed Babies, Disenchanted Women and Careening into Middle Age 
( Quill Driver Books , ISBN# 978-1-61035-290-1)
Get your signed copy direct from the author -- just scroll down on this page to see how.
Also available at various bookstores across the U.S. including some Barnes and Noble locations, or via Amazon.com
        Life doesn’t end at 40 ... it just gets really, really weird. In Kissing the Crisis, humorist Kara Martinez Bachman takes on middle age with a kick-ass Generation X attitude and a willingness to try anything. Bachman’s comic essays recount her many absurd adventures in her forties, presenting a decidedly female approach to the midlife crisis.
     Written for every woman who knows that turning 40 is no reason to become respectable, Kissing the Crisis is the field guide you need to blaze your own unconventional trail through the jungle of middle age. Bachman reports from the front lines of the battle to stay awake after 9 p.m., and her adventures will make you scream with laughter, cringe with embarrassment, and vow to tackle your own midlife crisis with a can-do attitude and a tasty cocktail.
     Kissing the Crisis tells of Bachman’s fearless exploits such as searching for a child-friendly bar and grill for a parents’ drinking night; reigniting her rock ’n’ roll lifestyle by founding the world’s greatest ukulele-harp goth band; futilely trying to shush a foul-mouthed toddler shrieking obscenities in the grocery store, while everyone judges her for being a bad mother; overcoming her lifelong beliefs about gun control to learn target shooting—and absolutely loving it; and her many other wild attempts to live life after 40 to the fullest, even in the face of the harshest mommy judgment.
     Bachman is a fresh, new, irreverent voice in humor, the spokeswoman of today’s middle-aged people, Generation X, who long ago lost the media’s attention but have been quietly redefining middle age as a time of freedom to be yourself without apologies. Kissing the Crisis is an inspiration to all of us living with a youthful spirit that says “Yes!” to adventure and a middle-aged body that says “Meh … let’s get ice cream instead.”

$14.95 ($18.95 Canada) • Trade Paperback • 6" x 9" • 146 pages
ISBN 978-1-61035-290-1



With Foreword by
Susan Langenhennig,
Home and Garden Editor of
The New Orleans Times-Picayune and Nola.com
About Kara

Hey, y'all. I was born and raised in New Orleans and when you hear me speak, you can kinda tell (yep ... I'm a yat). 

My essays have appeared in The Writer, Funny Times, and my writing has been heard on NPR (National Public Radio), where they inserted blues music behind my voice in a feeble attempt to make me seem cool. I'm a former staff entertainment reporter and community news editor for the New Orleans Times-Picayune and NOLA.com, where I still today contribute at least weekly on a freelance basis.

My essays, poetry and nonfiction reporting have been included in several anthologies, numerous parenting magazines, and a variety of regional, national and foreign publications, websites and literary journals.

I'm a married mom to two kids. I love donuts, dogs, kahlua, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, laughing, complaining, sloth, nostalgia, David Sedaris, most words, and that feeling you get the second before you sneeze. I curse more than I should and am usually antisocial. People make fun of how I drive.   (Click here for a detailed bio)
Purchase an author-signed copy of "Kissing the Crisis"

Purchase your author-signed copy of "Kissing the Crisis" today via Paypal. Your book can either have a standard signature, or be personalized for a special gift recipient.

To purchase directly, just send a total of $14.95 to Paypal account Kara@KaraMartinezBachman.com. And guess what? Shipping is FREE!

In the Paypal message section, indicate if you'd prefer a personalized inscription, and if so, what you'd like it to read. Otherwise, your copy will be sent with a standard author signature on the title page. Please be sure your correct mailing address is also included with your payment.

Your book will be shipped out within two business days via USPS.



MEMBER:
Pirate's Alley Faulkner Society
Bayou Writers Club
Humor Writers of America
Non-Fiction Author's Association
Copyright Kara Martinez Bachman © 2016, 2017 All Rights Reserved * Material may not be duplicated without permission